Sick Daze

Now on my third box of Puffs, nothing seems to stop the tidal flow from my nasal marshland, occasionally I hit upon a combo of cold medicine that for a moment gives me hope but it lasts only a moment and I’m back creating a snowy pile of bedside tissues. The coughing has abated enough that it no longer leads to throwing up but I still find myself doubled over heaving like a pack a day granny but perhaps with a bit more gusto.

We’re on day ten of this misery. I say we in a nod toward my “in sickness and in health” partner. Bet he’d like to take that back. Poor boy is so patient. He tries to get me out and about, to explore this new place we’re trying to call home. I go along, barely hiding that I only have interest in a fresh ginger ale and reruns on Hulu.

“Toughen up! It is just a cold,” I told myself on days 1-8. “Don’t go to the doctor. DO NOT beg for antibiotics. Taking antibiotics is simply naughty. Don’t contribute to drug resistance.” Day 9 found me at the UTC lamenting my misery.

The nurse he didn’t care, reducing my tale of woe to, ” So a runny nose and cough?”

“Yes,” I said with a chastised slump.

The doctor was a bit more compassionate toward my complaints of aching gums and cough strained throat. Impressed she was that my nose didn’t look stuffy. A raging river does not stuff. A sinus infection diagnosed. Antibiotics and full octane Sudafed prescribed.

With hope restored I took my new meds, tucked in and waited to feel better. I woke this day ten as I have every morning through this cursed journey thinking, “Maybe just maybe….SUCKER.” Three steps out of bed and Granny Gusto cough returns and a river of raging…well you know.

2 thoughts on “Sick Daze

  1. I hope you feel better soon. What ever is going around this year is awful strong. I got it almost two months ago and am just now feeling normal most days. I still cough a few times a day. I did a 10 day, 500mg amoxicillin 3x a day antibiotics regimen. The person who gifted the sickness to me, a fellow traveler, didn’t take any and when I saw them a month later they were just as bad off as week one. I hope you fare better than we did.

  2. Thanks. Until we hit the road I worked with kids so I built up the immunity of a tank. Miss that for sure. The person I may have caught it from had a really rough go as well. I’m mostly better now but it was a very gradual improvement with my cough only ending in the last couple of days. Stay well!

Leave a Reply

