My Own Best of Craigslist

Downsizing is a tough task.  Purge your stuff, trim the fat and throw out the seldom used.  Whether you are moving into a van like Jill and I did, or moving to a smaller place like my family is currently doing you gotta downsize.  And what better way than Craigslist?  Jill and I discovered the power of Craigslist throughout 2008 as we prepared to hit the road.  Top dollar for our crap we didn’t want.  So when my mom and aunt decided to move it was only natural that we help them use the internet to downsize.

We posted some stuff and the e-mails began to roll in.  Usually it was just a simple question; “Still got the _______?”.  Yes we still have the ______, it is still up on Craigslist right?!  Ahhh but things have changed in seven or so months since we last used The List.  Not only were we getting the usual question, we were also getting hustled.  Seems that some want to use the web for nefarious profit and not to buy used stuff.  We never got any spammers like this when we used Craigslist in Lexington.  I don’t know what has happened but at least we’re getting some entertainment while we help purge.

I didn’t think much of the scam spam and deleted some really good ones.  These two just came today and I couldn’t resist sharing.

hi seller
am marry from england my husband is a pastor  in nigeria and  i  want
to purchase this janssen uprigth piano  to CAC church their
celebrating their anniversary send me the full price and shipment cost
regard

I wonder if her husband knows that prince that needs you to wire him some money to get out of jail so he can pay you ten fold?

And another

I witnessed the stuff you have for sale in louisville.. I live there too, and I have been doing
the same thing exactly since America’s economy plummeted.. About 3.5 months
ago, it’s horrible, but I had no choice but to sell my boy’s Nintendo Wii
to get money and it was absolutely the toughest time in my life.
Saying that it made me ashamed wouldn’t even begin to describe it right,
but I had not choice but to make the house payment or we
would be living with my in laws (we were already several months behind).
Thank the Lord that’ll be the last time I will have to
hurt my family like that.

One of my friends showed me what he is doing to earn
ethical income working on the web. I couldn’t believe he’d
share this with me in the 1st place, but I’m so glad that I’ve been sharing this with
any one who needs assistance and who might be in a kind of similar situation.

Thank goodness it’s easy or I wouldn’t have been able to complete it, not to mention
it’s the most financially secure I’ve ever felt before. I promise you will
find this information worth the 60 seconds it will take you to look it over.

Oh, and here’s the link: http://qwx.si/53

Take care of yourself, and God Bless You!

Really?!  Had to sell you boy’s Wii?  A cryin’ shame.  Maybe when we give up this van thing I too can earn an ethical income on the web.  Feel free to click the link (at your own risk of spam, spyware and virus) for a laugh, I’m pretty sure you won’t get rich though.

This just in:

GOOD DAY,I JUST SAW YOUR PRODUCT ONLINE NOW……….IF YOU DONT MIND I WILL LIKE TO KNOW IF ITS STILL UP FOR SALES…..I WAS JUST ABOUT TO ASK A FRIEND ABOUT WHEN MY WIFE TOLD ME ABOUT YOURS.
HOPE TO HEAR FROM YOU SOON.
THANKS
WILL LESCOR

Awesome.  Of course I respond in hopes of getting a chuckle.  Of course I get a response.
We appreciate your response to our inquiry.  We are interested in buying it from you,we would have loved to come by and check it out ourselves but we just got married and we are presently on honeymoon trip to Hawaii . .Please withdraw  the advert from web so that we can be rest assured that the item is held for us. We don’t mind adding more for you to do that, We should believe that it is in good condition as stated. We will be making the payment via a Certified Check which my secretary will mail across to you. We
will take care of the shipping as our mover’s will be coming for the pick up once the Certified Check has been cashed. I will need  your full name and
physical address which will be for the payment and also enhance payment delivery. Hope to read from you soon again.

Just last week someone e-mailed me from their honeymoon in Hawaii wanting to buy a bedroom suit.  What is it with people shopping Craigslist on their honeymoon?!  This stuff is too funny.

Leave a Reply

