Miss / Don’t Miss

Well its 10 months since I’ve quit my life in good ole Lexington, KY and four months since I’ve taken up van residence full time. I guess it’s time for a miss / don’t miss list. In no particular order…

Miss:
My Birkienstocks: Why I left them at home when Jill brought 12 pairs of shoes I don’t know (this of course counts climbing, ski boots, running shoes etc). I only brought 8 pairs, one more was just too much.
Magee’s Bakery: Almond croissants and the hottest coffee in Lexington.
Our Dining Room Table: It was the place of many a good meal and even better conversation. We do have both in the van, but its not the same.
Work: Some days I miss shooting and editing TV news stories.
Co-workers: There was a handful of people that I actually liked.
The Red: I never thought I’d miss Southern sandstone, well-done bolted lines, clear cut ways of decent, rhodo jungles, and a good guidebook. Not to mention the cast of characters.
Ice: Bourbon just isn’t the same if you can’t have it on the rocks.

Don’t Miss:
Work: I don’t miss shooting TV news like I thought I might. I really don’t miss the daily bull that seems to go along with it, but I guess there is daily bull at most jobs.
Lexington, KY: It was home for almost 16 years yet if I never move back there that will be OK. As Scott Miller sang…Nothin’ wrong with where I come from, maybe just meant to be that.
The Daily Routine : After almost 11 years of dong the same thing it is nice to do something different. Even if that something different isn’t always easy.
Humidity: Makes spring and summer miserable, doesn’t allow for night time cooling, makes you run the air condition non-stop.
Stuff: Its amazing how little you really need to get by.
Mowing: If I ever have a traditional grass yard (doubtful if we live out west) it will be small enough to mow with one of those cool old school push mowers. And no 2-cycle string trimmer ever again.
Training For a Big Run: I do miss running, but it is nice to take a little time away from training for a long race. It is great to not have to run 12 or 16 miles at Raven Run on the weekends, I can still see the Red Trail in my sleep.

3 thoughts on “Miss / Don’t Miss

  1. ONE THING YOU MISSED THIS YEAR… GETTING YOUR ASS WHIPPED IN THE BLUEGRASS 10K…. 48.34 AFTER TWO WEEKS OF DRINKING WINE AND EATING PASTA IN ITALY… YOU WOULD OF HAD IT COMING.

  2. Here’s my list:

    Miss: Your smiling face, wit, and photography skills.

    Looks like you two are having lots of fun…great pics too. (Of course no real surprise there. šŸ™‚

    Love ya guys.

Leave a Reply

